Last blog post kicked off with a comment on the erratic nature of British Weather. I’d offer more of the same given Monday and Tuesday’s climatic conditions but I think I’ll defer. Still, I’m put in mind of Moff Fliry Vorru when commenting on Thyferra (see Star Wars: The Bacta War) – one doesn’t breathe the air here, one drinks it. I wish scientists would hurry up and make fusion power available to the masses as it’d be great to be able to have full air con in every single building/room. 

I finally had a reasonably decent intellectual challenge at work this week, a real brain-busting problem. Solved it but it did require a fair amount of consideration, research and trial & error to get to the answer. It’s not often I get stumped, the consequence of being in the same role for five years but occasionally, you do get something that is rewarding. Alas, I now know more about the general precepts of International Treaties than I had ever wanted to. Most of my work tends to be more routine or procedural, especially lately and as an ENTP, it doesn’t suit my temperament. Yes, this has been a very rare expression of job satisfaction; it needed recording for when I finally lose the fragile threads of my sanity.

For only the third time this season, Team Yoshi won the Griffin Quiz and so now we have a three-point deduction. We also won two spot prizes although one turned out to be the dud. Really enjoyed the falafel salad with the humus although it’s made me think that I’ve had way too many cold meals lately, ought really to have a hot one. Laziness or summer, not sure – probably a little from column A and a little from column B. I let the rest of the team enjoy the liquor, not least as they had much longer to travel home lugging 36 bottles of booze with them – arf arf!

You know what really grinds my gears (© Family Guy)? Adverts which have a well-known song re-recorded and repackaged as some dreadful muzak/ballad hybrid, often sung by a sappy-sounding woman, groaning her way through the melodies. Tvtropes calls it a “repurposed pop song”. Latest example (and I refuse to post any sort of YouTube link) is the current Premier Inn which violates “Wonderful Life” by Black. Other (notably bad versions of) songs which have been similarly abused are Cindy Lauper’s “True Colors” and Guns n Roses “Sweet Child of Mine”. I feel compelled to mute the advert whenever I hear such a dreadful cover version and not to use the company until the advertising run has ended, if not for much longer, depending on the vileness factor. Either pay for the original music or don’t bother.

You know what else grinds my gears? People who don’t use the “enter” button in text/whatsapp messages so instead of sending one longer message, you get three, four, five, six messages with phones trilling/buzzing away. FFS, it’s a perfectly useful button, kindly use it and think about what you type. 

And that’s what grinds my gears. Diane?

