Following on from the last post, five old games I’d like to see again:
1. Desert Strike – yeah, I’ve waxed lyrical about this in my top ten video games (see earlier posts)

2. Bugs Bunny’s Crazy Castle (Game Boy version) – at school when Gameboys were all the rage back in the early 90s, many of my contemporaries seemed to have a copy of Bugs Bunny’s Crazy Castle, a hybrid platform/puzzle game where the hero wandered around a series of levels collecting carrots and trying to avoid enemies like Yosamite Sam, Daffy Duck and Wile E Coyote. Played for hours at the time, never actually finished it.

3. Parasol Stars – Bubble Bobble III with umbrellas! Top notch platformer where Bub and Bob are trying to save their solar system from being taken over by an evil villain. Filled with the usual Bubble Bobble secrets increasing replayability, massively.

4. Turrican – This was one of my favourite games on the C64 and I remember playing the demo of the sequel over and over again thanks to a Zzap 64 covertape. Like the Last Ninja, it really pushed the technical specifications of the system to the max producing almost Amiga quality games from nothing but a cassette. Tunes by Chris Hülsbeck only helped this fine game.

5. Cannon Fodder – Probably the reason I broke my Amiga mouse – through incessant clicking. Well that and the original Civilization. Jools and Jops and Stoo – RIP (the game characters, not the real life people).

Won two games of Hex Hex on Sunday, simply by keeping my mouth shut and remaining off the radar compared with the other players. And I won King of Tokyo by stealth. Indulged in a bit of yelling at Dead Island (zombies that appear from nowhere) on Saturday and have decided to give GTA IV my all in an attempt at completing it. 

No other news, gossip or scandal to report. It’s not been a particularly salacious time as of late. Even the news is pretty lacklustre to offer comment on. Perhaps this is no bad thing, it means there are fewer distractions to get caught up in. Although Dr Do(o)m did mention that Han has an ex-wife now. Stupid Marvel.

I have been re-reading the “Fate of the Jedi” Novology (is that the correct name for a nine-part series?) on iBooks – probably mentioned before that I never read the last part as that was around the time I decided to stop buying hard copies of books and go electronic only. Re-reading it a second time, I’m enjoying the story a lot more than I did the first time around, particularly as I was only vaguely aware of “The Ones” from the Clone Wars series so the character of Abeloth didn’t make a great deal of sense. I’m not certain what direction the Legends timeline would/will take given there’s a 80/90 year time jump between the last book Crucible and the Legacy comic books. Granted, some of the gaps are easier to fill than others, I only hope some writers are given the chance to do so. Particuarly, how is Ania Solo related to the rest of the Solo clan?

 

