This weekend’s games of choice have been Pac Man Championship Edition and Wolfenstein on the Xbox. Although you get nine games (I think) with Pac Man, the one I’ve been playing the most was the Championship Game itself. In either five or ten minute slots, you have to run around two halves of a maze, eating the pellets in each half. If you successfully do so, a piece of fruit appears which must be reached in order to trigger the next round of pellets. And the game speeds up, the layout of the maze changes whilst the lighting and sound gets more intense. Sounds simple but then again the most horribly addictive games typically are. It also gives me crazy ideas for video game challenges…

Wolfenstein; I bought this at the same time I bought South Park: The Stick of Truth from Game in Hamleys but it lost out in the immediacy stakes. Still, you know I enjoy the original, Return to Castle Wolfenstein and I was keen to see what 2009 made of the franchise, not least with half an eye on “the New Order” release next month. And I kinda like it. It took a while to get to grips with the controls but once mastered, there’s lots of fun to be had in the 3D mazes of the fictional town of Isenstadt. Nice story, good balance of tech and horror (within the world of Wolfenstein), only gripe is that the individual missions can’t be revisited which means you have to shoot for 100% completion up front rather than go back and pick up things you missed.

No “Achtung” yells or mad little doggies either…

I wanted to try Red Dead Redemption but it turns out I have Red Dead Redemption Nightmare (bought from Morrisons in the new year sale) and it’s only fricking disc 2. Screwed over twice! So Wolfenstein was chosen as the new game of choice. Might have to be Lego Pirates of the Caribbean next or perhaps I’ll return to GTA IV. So many games, so little time.

