I have to say that I still don’t feel like I have holidayitis having been back at work for two days. It was a struggle to get out of bed this morning as usual and there’s still the usual underlying resentment about spending almost half my waking day in SW1 but there’s no moodiness, stroppiness or sulking. Maturity or response to August events?

Today’s first-world problem: video game instruction manuals – to bin or not to bin? Gamefaqs and other such websites regularly have them reproduced (with clearer, more helpful instructions) within the guides. The 3DS dispenses with them pretty much altogether as manuals come in the games themselves. So should I be keeping a shoebox full of Gamecube and Wii manuals or should they be returned to the earth from whence they came? FYI, most of my PC game manuals went the way of the dodo years ago and I cleared out the last of them two weeks ago. Even the few game guides for N64 games (Super Mario 64, WWF Attitude etc) are looking dated.

Weekend report – still without internet except for my iPhone but Sky is now hooked up thanks to the kindness of the downstairs neighbour who allowed me to jack into her dish (and that’s not the American slang-type “jack”). Couldn’t find a TV stand I liked except the one in Habitat which was a humble £400. Frankly it looked like my old bathroom cupboard turned on its side but for some reason, it just worked. Haven’t tried IKEA’s wares though blitzed just about everywhere else. Even tried the Stables at Camden Market and almost bought some other junk until common sense prevailed.

Still without several other key items at the flat but at least I now have some kitchen knives and a couple of other odds and sods. Saucepans arrive today and some more cutlery would be helpful. Oh – and the washing machine appears to be on the blink as the spin cycle doesn’t seem to be kicking in leaving clothes a soggy mess; irksome.

So as you can gather, things were largely domestic with a large amount of walking done. Have been replaying Jedi Academy now I’ve finished Jedi Outcast just for the sheer hell of it (and there are no Steam Achievements to miss out on). Though I’m playing New Super Mario Bros 2 on 3DS, just can’t seem to get into it. Maybe I should jump ahead to the next game on the list or track down another copy of Kid Icarus Uprising.

Social life is beginning to pick up again so I guess summer is well and truly over. Except that the weather outside begs to tell a different story and hayfever is well and truly back with the mother of sneezing fits this morning. Other sufferers at work have reported the same. Damn pollen. Ah well, the price we pay for 21st century living.

