I wasn’t a participant of Yoshi’s Island in Tuesday’s quiz; I was the quiz master together with Alex again. I set twenty questions on music, general knowledge, riddles and a picture round on Elizabeth the First and the feed back received was overwhelmingly positive. Moral of this story? Remember the KISS method: Keep It Simple, Stupid. The Griffin has also introduced a new alcoholic Dandelion & Burdock drink from Hoopers (their Crabbies replacement). It’s lethal; you cannot taste the alcohol at all and then BAM – twatted.

I met up with German Chris for the first time since…August last year for a drink yesterday at the Elusive Camel in Victoria. That pub has changed a hell of a lot since I was last there. Thumbs up to the cleanliness of the place. Thumbs down to the general service and extortionate bar prices. I suggested we decamp across to the road to Pat Vals for coffee. I should plug his website but it’s about to move hosts so I’ll wait for the new address (assuming of course it’ll change).

As I’m between games, I thought I’d revisit Super Mario 3D on the 3DS as I haven’t yet finished the second run-through of the game with Luigi. I think there were a lot of stares whilst getting angry at the World 7 run-through as I think I lost 30 lives alone on 7-4 making exactly the same mistakes in exactly the same place. It’s like hypnosis – being programmed to fail in a specific spot. Like Robot Unicorn Attack and “that jump” on a particular map.

As I’m bound by draconian rules, it’d put my job at risk to publicly comment on the two-fold news yesterday that (a) we are not getting any sort of performance bonus this year despite doing a damn good job in the most difficult of circumstances and (b) pay progression in the civil service being “modernised”. But what I will say is that you get what you pay for in this life, a lesson that perhaps needs to be…reasserted. I know what private sector employees are thinking – about time. Or words to that effect. But the main attraction of the civil service was a lower salary in exchange for decent perks. Who wants to work for a poor salary with little/no perks above what you might find beyond the statutory minimum?

One other thing – the hashtag #firstworldproblems is getting really old/tedious. And to the person this particularly applies to: what goes around, comes around.

