A little over a month ago, Joey informed me in a very irked manner that he was “never…going…to…move…again”. After this weekend, I’m subscribing to his newsletter. I’m not sure what part was the worst: lugging over-stuffed boxes, making “just one more trip”, watching overstuffed boxes rip at the seams or at the handles, feeling compelled to wash my hands over thirty times, getting moaned at unnecessarily, seeing hundreds of pounds worth of perfectly good stuff get junked because of apathy or realising my pack-rat tendencies have caught up with me.

Fortunately reader, I’m not going to give you a blow by blow account of what happened. The truncated version goes along the lines of “I moved, I sweated, I bled, I cursed, I had salted-caramel ice-cream”. The front room is still full of my boxes, some still full, most empty but I cannot continue to unpack and sift through my belongings until my new wardrobe is erected which really is a two-man job.

Perhaps the main unintended side effect of the move was feeling quite ill on the Sunday. It’s probably due to all the dust kicked up by dragging down archived junk from the attic and the dirty tall cupboard but I felt utterly congested, worse than when hay-fever hit a couple of weeks ago. The effect has faded this week but not gone away altogether. Nasal sprays don’t half feel weird.

It feels like I haven’t had a weekend what with all the work undertaken on the two properties. I hate to say it but thank heaven for the refectory at work which has allowed me to have a proper meal rather than the junk chomped through. The new catering company which took over a few weeks ago from Styles have really improved the canteen, particularly the salad bar which is where I tend to get my meals from. They do this courgette/aubergine/capsicum medley which might as well have been especially created for me. Or so my Jovian ego would choose to believe.

Foolishly agreed to lend someone £2K as a bridging loan. I pray that I’m not going to regret this decision. The only reasons I did so was that I have been helped out in the past (with smaller amounts) and that other times I was in financial trouble, I wished more people had been willing to lend a hand. Therefore I feel it hypocritical not to stick my hands in my pocket at this time…I dunno. Personal ethical issues.

Today’s earworm: Carly Simon & Coming Around Again.

Saw Big Ian last night who was up from Swansea for the day to talk work issues with HR. He’s on good form and over coffee we traded stories as well as handling tips and what’s coming up in the next few months. Toujours une grande pleseur; one of the few people I have a great deal of time for.

Haven’t really made time for video games lately so can’t tell you what’s been what. I did catch a little of the Xbox One unveiling event yesterday. Aesthetically the console looks like something from out of the 1970s. Dunno about the rest of its features but it’s hardly improving leaps and bounds on what went before. Whomever the hack was from the BBC, (s)he said something about with consoles catching up with PC gaming. Well, this is probably true. However, why would you want a games console to duplicate a PC? Laptops are “affordable” and can do a great deal more… which leads me to believe that Nintendo had it correct all along but unfortunately face a hostile press and a largely indifferent host of third party publishers. Again, why I think EA buying Lucasarts is criminal and should be rejected on competition grounds.

When the technology was more crude, manufacturers could get away with “more of the same” as there were fewer directions to progress in. Each generation of VG technology had something which made it stand out amongst its peers. Going back to the golden age of home computing, the 8 Bit era was its affordability and versatility. The 16 Bit era had the larger games which would take days to complete rather than hours. The 32/64 Bit era had true 3D gaming whilst the last generation finally paired up consoles with the interweb and applied analogue and digital technology. What we know about the PS4 and the Xbox One – more of the same. Where’s the true revolution? At least Nintendo have tried to offer something with the tablet controller which does think outside the box. But then these are the words of one unapologetic fanboy.

