Move preparations continue apace – items have been shoved into boxes and crates, three large bags of clothes and books have been carried to the Charity Shop whilst long forgotten cans and packets of food are consumed in weird combinations. The house only has me left – it’s quite nice. The silence isn’t deafening but it’s not as if I have room to move about because of boxes all over the place together with tins of paint and other such renovation materials.

Speaking of boxes – four file boxes and six crates have been stuffed and by my rough calculation, that’s about a sixth of what I want to take. Yup, I’m a real pack-rat. Though the plan is to take stuff and then subsequently sell it on when I get chance to breathe. For now, unless it’s utterly useless, it’s packed and moved. It feels nostalgic, like being an army brat all over again seeing my life put into storage for a move.

The remainder of last week was pretty uneventful save for the fact that the weather began to turn ugly again. At the weekend, I learned that antihistamines and poppers don’t mix. I also learned that chemical burns caused by the latter take a while to heal. Finally tracked down two more WHSmiths DVD cases but they don’t match the three existing ones I own. Ah well, Video games can go in one and I’ll swap over music when I get a chance into the other – handy differentiator. And I finally managed to obtain six new binders for the comic book collection so the million or so I have lying around can at last be archived before they are moved.

Um…Sunday was Lee’s Trek afternoon, based around Space Seed, Yesterday’s Enterprise and the Best of Both Worlds. The first on the list was the best in terms of being tarted up. Couldn’t see much in YE whilst the Best of Both Worlds missed some golden opportunities. But the HD effect was good, images much more crisp and the sound track was booming.

Not happy today – brought in some sort of hybrid food concoction in my bag and the damn thing leaked. iPad was protected by its case though that got a small soak but other items were not so fortunate. And for the third time this week (it’s only Wednesday damn it!), my tube train was packed with school kids going to (presumably) South Kensington to the museums. Worst thing Ken ever did was allow all the under-16s to travel for free on London Transport.

Speaking of Mayors, I read in the Metro (I was desperate as I was sick of a certain puzzle on Layton) that Eddie Izzard is proceeding apace with his plans to be the Labour Party Mayoral candidate not for this coming election in 2015 but rather for the one in 2019 though if he fails, he’ll be looking to be an MP. Well, best of luck to him. I still would rather Oona King were given another chance or even Dawn Butler but I think EI would be an effective debater who has instant public recognition.

We won the quiz last night in a tie with JGRC (I’d write out the full name of the team but I don’t want the abusive comments in the comments column). Fortunately our answer sheets will point to completely different results if anyone wants to accuse us of cheating. They overestimated David Blunkett’s age by two years whilst Alex very generously underestimated it by twenty years. And we learned the world record for loudest burp was 109dB. As I’m moving, I elected to give my share of the beer to Team Science as they’re seasoned drinkers and would appreciate it more.

Subject change – something I wanted to dissect/publish in my blog was a little theory running around in my head. Ever since Barry and the cats moved out a fortnight or so ago, I’ve been able to leave doors open in the house – my bedroom, the lounge, the upstairs toilet (given their partiality for drinking straight from the faucet) etc. And what it’s been making me wonder is – has the simple act of keeping doors firmly shut been having more of an effect than intended?

Let me explain: one of my pet theories is how one’s living space is a reflection of the psyche or a reflection of the dynamics of a relationship in how it’s arranged, decorated etc. Each room represents a different aspect of a person or the family/partnership relationship. My personal preference is for a more open plan-type house or at least keeping doors open, windows open to maximise the amount of space. I think this reflects my personal preference to be more open, more fluid and more open to progress. With the cats shedding fur everywhere and misbehaving generally, I was wondering that by keeping doors firmly closed, it was actually coercing my brain to act in a more closed minded manner.

I’ve been feeling far more closed off and insular these last few months – with winter dragging on more than normal, there’s been a more practical reason to exist behind closed doors, to trap the heat in the house rather than being able to switch off the radiators with the first signs of spring. I cannot help but wonder if a simple… ’Feng Shui’ type issue isn’t at work. In the two weeks since I’ve been able to keep doors open, I have felt a little better generally. But this could be due to other circumstances – I cannot evaluate the longer term effects. The place I’m moving to is more open plan generally. Being a modern flat, the kitchen, lounge and eating space are all one room.

By contrast, the Doctor who I think thrives in a more enclosed space as he prefers boundaries (but would never admit to such) and now he is in a more open space by default, hasn’t been coping so well. Though the addition of an extra person, me, will enclose his space a little which may lend itself to balance. And the circuitous nature of the flat (it’s actually built around a 4m squared support pillar with a corridor running all around it) will be closed off to arrange in furniture.

I could be talking crap, I frequently do but there’s at least a little truth in what I say. When I’m in a bad mood or in a funk, I let the cleaning slip, don’t make my bed, leave out dishes etc which reflects the disorganised, chaotic mental state. But in a good mood, the house is kept immaculate, items are stored in a set place and harmony reigns. Or something like that.

Won a fun game of Civ V on Monday night – I was playing as Elizabeth and was determined to win a domination victory. Took each opponent down one by one starting with the Dutch who I shared a continent with, then moved to the Carthaginians, the Babylonians, the Huns, the Chinese and finally the Persians (the Huns had already killed off India). Taking advantage of the innate English ability, I had a sizeable navy ready to take coastal cities with my favourite Battleship/Destroyer combo. But what I learned is that to win a Domination victory, you can’t start with the Honor track – you need either Honor or Liberty alongside to ensure you have a decent infrastructure in place to support a prolonged campaign before you then go to Honor and Autocracy. I also opted for Rationalism over Piety as the science surge available would enable the best weapons possible – the English were throwing artillery and modern infantry against crossbowmen and pikemen with the Babylonians. The Chinese caught up for the most part but when Modern Armour was upgraded to Giant Death Robots…Beijing quickly fell. And it’s funny swatting biplanes out of the sky with Modern Sam units.

