About one year ago, I posted a questionnaire to my blog from an email: (https://ljofa.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/qaires-from-the-past) I’d put in the link properly but IE8 is a bitch) one year ago on 19/09/11 (that’s UK dates and not US dates).  I’ve updated it twelve months on; an interesting exercise in compare/contrast.    

 

                     

 

1. LIVING ARRANGEMENT?

 

Breathe in, breathe out; it’s an oldie but a classic.  12 years living in Stratford and I’d like nothing better than to get out of Newham but until the housing market conditions are a little more favourable (or I get promoted at work), I guess I’m here to stay.

 

 
2. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?

 

I’ve been buying a glut of Star Trek books for my iPad, mostly those that I already own so that I can divest myself of the paperbacks.  As for non-Trek, whatever I pull off my shelves – frequently in the Alternative History genre and more essays than fiction. 

 

3. WHAT’S ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?

 

I haven’t had a mouse pad for years; optical mice are the way forward and with touch screen computers…virtually obsolete.  Though they do make handy placemats in a pinch. 

 

4. FAVOURITE BOARD GAME?

 

I prefer word games that don’t necessarily have a board like Scattergories and Taboo.  That said, I do still enjoy games like Risk, Axis & Allies et al, especially the video game conversions. 

 

5. FAVOURITE MAGAZINES?

 

BBC Focus, BBC History, Retro Gamer and Privvet Eye [sic].

 


6. BABIES?

 

Zero.  

 

7. FAVOURITE SOUND?

 

The absence of sound is probably the best noise there is.  Silence is indeed golden, especially when you live in and exist in an urban environment
 
8. WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD?

 

When life gets out of control, like a runaway mine cart and all you can do is sit back and endure the ride.

 


9. WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE
UP IN THE MORNING?
Did my lottery numbers come up?  How much longer to the weekend?  Can I squeeze out a few more minutes of rest?

 

                                   
10. FAVOURITE COLOUR?

 

Prussian Blue or Forest Green. 

 

11. HOW MANY RINGS BEFORE YOU ANSWER THE PHONE?

 

As many as it takes for voicemail to kick in; few people actually phone these days, there’s a heavy dependence on text messages and emails.  Those who do call me generally want to sell me products and services I don’t want.  I think my home phone has been unplugged five years now. 

 

12. FUTURE CHILD’S NAME.

 

Edward for a boy.  Something non-pretentious for a girl though given my family’s genes, a boy is a dead cert for first child.

 


13. WHAT IS MOST IMPORTANT IN LIFE?

 

Celebrating successes, no matter how small and insignificant.  Preferably with as many people as possible.
 
14. FAVOURITE FOODS?

 

Vegetarian Mexican – the complete range.  And a good cheese, none of that cheddar muck unless it’s über strong and sweating like a glassblowers arse.

 


15. CHOCOLATE OR VANILLA?

 

Vanilla. Every time.  That’s Ice-cream flavours, coffee additives and sexual preferences. 

 

16. DO YOU LIKE TO DRIVE FAST?

 

Speed is overrated except when you’re walking.  Prefer to take in the sights and see what’s happening around me which you can’t do when the landscape is a blur. 

 

17. DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL?

 

Nope though there are 33 year old stuffed toys under my divan.  I do cocoon in the duvet however. 

 

18. STORMS – COOL OR SCARY?

 

Irritating, London Underground scheduling tends to collapse in anything more than a shower. 

 

19. POLITICIANS – PRODUCTIVE PEOPLE OR WASTE OF SPACE?

 

One wonders how people so stupid can rise to positions of such importance.  This token democracy we exist under is government of the inept irrespective of who is in charge.  I’m with Lex Luthor in Superman: Red Son on this one.

 


20. IF YOU COULD MEET ONE PERSON DEAD OR ALIVE WHO WOULD IT BE?

 

Before I’d have said Hattie Jacques or Peter Cushing.  Assuming I could get a translator, I think I wouldn’t mind tea with Augustus Caesar.

 

                                                                           
21. FAVOURITE ALCOHOLIC DRINK.

 

Whatever qualifies under Happy Hour.  But those ginger flavoured drinks are lovely. 

 

22. WHAT IS YOUR ZODIAC SIGN?

 

Old Fishy.  Unless you mean Chinese Zodiac which is a sheep/goat. Baaaa. 

 

23. DO YOU EAT THE STEMS OF BROCCOLI?

 

Hell yes – they’re featuring more and more in my stir-frys.

 

                                              
24. IF YOU COULD HAVE ONE JOB IN THE WORLD WHAT WOULD IT BE?

 

Professional blogger, so long as I can receive a steady stream of subjects to rant about.

 

 

 

25. IF YOU DYED YOUR HAIR, WHAT COLOUR WOULD YOU PICK?

 

My hair has been Grade Zero for at least eight years and its several colours thanks to my mongrel genes?
 
26. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN IN LOVE?

 

Yes.

 


27. IS THE GLASS HALF EMPTY OR HALF FULL?

 

Despite a strong preference for a binary universe, I hate and despise this question.  Just give the damn thing a refill or drain it and have done.

 

                     
28. FAVOURITE MOVIES?

 

It’s a difficult question to answer, surprisingly enough.  There’s little coming out of Hollywood that’s of interest lately, especially with the current crop of “stars” who are as welcome as a bad case of haemorrhoids.  I’m happy with anything in my collection really, that’s a good range of film.

 


29. DO YOU TYPE WITH YOUR FINGERS ON THE RIGHT KEYS?

 

Yup, have been able to touch type for at least a decade. 

 

30. WHAT’S UNDER YOUR BED?

 

The divan has four drawers, drawer one is hair clippers, drawer two is imported Star Wars figures, photo albums and other related tat, drawer three is stuffed toys and stuff that should really be thrown out, drawer four are important documents collated in one place, an Atari 8-in-1 game console and a box full of Freedoms.


31. PREFERRED METHOD OF TRANSPORT?

 

Shanks Mare, really.  I prefer to move under my own power.  

 

32. FAVOURITE SPORT TO WATCH?

 

Would rather play than watch given the choice.  But like before, I can watch ten-pin bowling between turns with a nice fruit cider in my hand.

