The end is nigh. For the Wii that is; even the second hand games market is slim pickings at the moment. After a temper tantrum directed at Sid Meier’s Pirates because the final challenge against the Duke of Montalban is unwinnable (should have downgraded to “easy”), I stormed out the house to go shopping. Retail therapy was the answer and I had toothbrushes and mouthwash to purchase (but not toothpaste as I have five tubes at home – long story, don’t ask).

After stopping by Boots, I went to the Game in both Westfield and in Stratford Shopping centre and browsed the range. Much to my disappointment, the only products in the second hand range were shovelware apart from the perpetual line of Nintendo products which stubbornly remain around the £25/£30 mark. Except Mario Party 8, of course, that’s the only one which is affordable though having (briefly) played it, I can’t see myself punching my pin into a card reader.

Um, the only other subject on my mind at the moment is that of the fridge-freezer saga. We defrosted it yesterday and it seems to be closing ok for the moment but again I suspect it’s a temporary state of affairs and a replacement has to be sought. During yesterday’s expedition, I did peruse John Lewis on the off chance they had in store what they had on the website but I was to be cruelly disappointed. Well, perhaps not quite that but it was a little miffing not to be able to properly explore a range. The blights of a lack of floor space and interweb shopping, methinks.

Thought for the day:

Ageing (a popular theme). Why does nobody extol the benefits and virtues of ageing until you get there? For most of us, we can’t wait to grow up and then when mature, you want to stop the ageing process dead in its tracks. But there are so many positive aspects of this process which nobody – and I mean NOBODY bothered to let me in on.

First of all, it’s easier to shake off vitriol and negativity. Other people’s comments, other people’s actions just don’t have the enduring impact they once did. It’s easier to hit the “ignore button” and walk away rather than feeling stung into a general response. And it’s easier to deliver withering putdowns unlike in ages past when the tongue and the brain never ran at precisely the same speed – kinda like a handrail on an escalator.

What else is good? You have less overall energy to do stuff but either (a) make time to do it all anyway because you KNOW you’ll never hear the end of it or (b) prioritise and aren’t afraid to say no any more for fear of looking a social pariah. You can also say “no” to one more for the road.

There’s the usual gumph about automatically commanding respect and having people listen to you. I find myself automatically dismissing people because of their young age and then realise “but I felt crap when that happened to me so lighten up”. Though that’s not necessarily the easiest thing to do, especially when the comments you receive are of the “whack-job” variety.

What else is good about ageing? Tastebud development and discovering a whole new range of flavours, particularly spicy ones. I’d have balked at a hot chilli con carne or curry a few years ago, now I bitch and whine if it isn’t spicy enough.

Grumpy Old Men? More like Secretly Content Old Men.

