Today’s thought for the day – why do organisations fail to respond to staff basic needs? I’ve been hearing a litany of failures of organisations, not just my own about how management cannot seem to correctly deliver on the simple, routine things that don’t require much to change in order to make a difference and instead focus on the difficult tasks? Have people not heard of the whole “look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves” argument? Few people consider “long-sightedness” to be anything of an insult and yet in this case, it’s spot on.

You wouldn’t credit it, this morning I overslept by an hour because my sodding alarm failed to go off. No, the phone wasn’t on silent or vibrate, yes it had power, there was no noise coming from it at all. I suppose that all things being equal, I should have been grateful for the extra hour unconscious, particularly given lack of sleep opportunities in the last week but I was ten minutes late (dressed, teeth, out the door) for work. The only diagnosis I could come up with for the fault was a possible need to flush the iPhone’s memory by switching it off and on again.

Failure of technology, ain’t it grand? Well, in what appears to be the continuation of a winning streak, we won another £15 on the pub quiz machine at the Griffin following last night’s main quiz which we lost. Still, good times were had by all.

It’s almost the end of September and I’m sorry to say that Xmas is starting to encroach onto thoughts. What to do, who to buy for and how much is too much? Even though it’s three months away, it’ll be here before we have time to realise and all of a sudden you’re forced to join the main shopping throngs on Oxford Street looking for tat that people don’t actually want. One of the classics are those giant pepper grinders you see for sale – would you give them as a gift? Would you want to receive them as a gift? At least they’re under a tenner, small mercies tho’.

You cannot but help agree with what Eddie Monsoon says in season 3 of Absolutely Fabulous: “I don’t want more choice, I just want nicer things.” That’s the perfect metaphor for what Xmas has become these days. The focus is on quantity rather than quality and as a result, there’s a lot of pleasure sucked out of gift-giving given the quantised nature of it. I’d rather have one really, really nice gift than lots of little ones but that, in all honesty, would mean teaming up and receiving vouchers (which I despise) – might as well have the cash.

Ah well.

Etc.

